«  Prev


Martha (Tjulata) McDonald Napaltjarri: Warlukuritji


Details

  • No.:RK1668
  • Medium:Acrylic on Cotton
  • Size:122 × 46 cm
  • Year:2019
  • Region:Papunya
  • Art Centre:Papunya Tjupi Arts

Martha depicts Walukuritji in her works. It is one of a series of clay pans to the south of Lake MacDonald that were significant for her father, Shorty Lungkata Tjungurrayi. The surrounding dot matrix depicts the tapestry of different types of vegetation across the landscape.

“These are ngati (holes) and a little bit of kapi (water) in the waterholes, still ngati. And watiya (trees). Watiya, one, two, three, four. Watiya.”

Martha has been painting for a long time. She witnessed the beginnings of the Papunya Art Movement in the early 1970s, when her father created authoritative works that would go on to be internationally celebrated. While Martha paints his country, she does so in her own way, and only in relation to the stories that she knows about it.

“This place is my fathers country, Warlukuritji, other side of Kintore. I don’t know where, South of Kintore I am watching my father paint, his way, in the old way. They are doing painting before, outside, otherside of the church. We used to see them. You listen - this is father’s country, Daddy. But I paint differently to my father.”


Special provisions apply to this artwork. Reproductions of the artwork and its story in part or in whole in any form require the permission of the artist. We are only too happy to be of assistance in this matter.

«  Zurück


Martha (Tjulata) McDonald Napaltjarri: Warlukuritji


Details

  • Nr.:RK1668
  • Medium:Acryl auf Baumwolle
  • Größe:122 × 46 cm
  • Jahr:2019
  • Region:Papunya
  • Kunstzentrum:Papunya Tjupi Arts

In diesem Gemälde hat Martha Warlukuritji dargestellt. Dies ist eine von mehreren Lehmpfannen, die sich südlich von Lake MacDonald befinden und die alle für ihren Vater Shorty Lungkata Tjungurrayi bedeutsam waren. Das umgebende Tupfmuster stellt den Landschaftsteppich dar, der sich aus verschiedenen Vegetationsarten zusammensetzt.

"Dies sind ngati (Löcher) und ein kleines Bisschen kapi (Wasser) in den Wasserlöchern, und noch mehr ngati. Und watiya (Bäume). Watiya, eins, zwei, drei, vier. Watiya."

Martha malt schon sehr lange. Sie erlebte bereits die Anfänge der Kunstbewegung in Papunya in den frühen 1970er Jahren, als ihr Vater maßgebliche Werke schuf, die später international gefeiert wurden. Wenn Martha das Land ihres Vaters malt, tut sie das auf ihre eigene Weise. Sie malt auch nur Teile der Geschichte, die ihr bekannt sind.

"Dieser Ort Warlukuritji gehört zum Land meines Vaters, auf der anderen Seite von Kintore. Irgendwo südlich von Kintore schaute ich meinem Vater beim Malen zu, wie er auf seine Art malte, auf die alte Art. Auch vorher sah ich sie schon malen, draußen, auf der anderen Seite der Kirche. Wir sahen sie häufig. Hört zu, dies ist das Land meines Vaters, von meinem "Daddy". Aber ich male es anders als mein Vater."


Das Kunstwerk steht unter besonderem Schutz. Jegliche Form der Abbildung, auch von Teilen, erfordert die Genehmigung des Künstlers, bei deren Beschaffung wir gerne behilflich sind.