Papulankutja Artists

Image details at the end of text

Papulankutja Artists was founded in 2000 and is the oldest continually operating art centre in the Ngaantjarra Lands and especially well known for its works made out of grass (tjanpi) and wood (purnu). It services artists in Blackstone (Papulankutja) and Jameson (Mantamaru, 90 km to the east).

The art centre shares its name with the community, which is sited between the Blackstone Ranges in the south and the dune fields in the north. These two landforms embody the Wati Kutjara Tjukurpa (Two Men Dreaming), which see the yellow goanna man (sand dunes) and the black goanna man (mountains) playing tricks and not recocnizing each other at Blackstone. This is the meaning of Papulankutja, the Indigenous name of the community.

In 2014 the art centre containing most of their art work fell victim to a disatrous fire. To give support to the art centre to continue with ist work, ARTKELCH gives the senior artists Tjayanka Woods (dec.), Anmanari Brown and Anawari Mitchell the chance to show some of their beautiful works in Germany alongside a small contingent of works by Janet Forbes, Elaine Lane, Angilyiya Mitchell and Thomas Reid as representatives of the second generation of Blackstone artists.


Photos (f.l.t.r.): Purnu | Photo: Tim Acker © Papulankutja Artists Tjanpi and Painting by Janet Forbes | Photo: Paul Polito © Papulankutja Artists Painting in - and of - the land | Photo: Tim Acker © Papulankutja Artists

Associated Artworks

Papulankutja Artists

Bilddetails siehe Textende

Papulankutja Artists wurde im Jahre 2000 gegründet und ist das älteste durchgehend betriebene Kunstzentrum in den Ngaanyatjarra Lands und noch heute eine Hochburg für Arbeiten aus Gras (tjanpi) und Holz (purnu). Es betreut Künstler in Blackstone (Papulankutja) und Jameson (Mantamaru) 90 km weiter östlich.

Das Kunstzentrum teilt seinen Namen mit der Gemeinde, die zwischen den Blackstone Ranges im Süden und den Dünenfeldern im Norden liegt. Diese zwei Landschaften verkörpern die Wati Kutjara Tjukurrpa (Schöpfungsgeschichte der Zwei Männer), in welcher der Gelbe Waran-Mann (die Sanddünen) und der Schwarze Waran-Mann (die Berge) sich in Blackstone austricksen und nicht wiedererkennen (Bedeutung des Namens Papulankutja).

Ende 2014 fiel das Kunstzentrum einem verheerenden Feuer zum Opfer, bei dem auch der Großteil der Werke verbrannte. Zur besonderen Unterstützung nach der Brandkatastrophe hat ARTKELCH neben den senioren Künstlerinnen Tjayanka Woods (zwischenzeitlich verstorben), Anmanari Brown und Anawari Mitchell mit Janet Forbes, Elaine Lane, Angilyiya Mitchell und Thomas Reid auch Talente der zweiten Generation mit ins Programm aufgenommen.


Fotos (v.l.n.r.): Purnu | Foto: Tim Acker © Papulankutja Artists Tjanpi und Gemälde von Janet Forbes | Foto: Paul Polito © Papulankutja Artists Gemälde im und vom Land | Foto: Tim Acker © Papulankutja Artists

Zugeordnete Kunstwerke